About Dayout

This website is dedicated to the idea that, wherever you go in New Zealand, you will find interesting things to see and do nearby. Yes, the iconic sights and activities shouldn't be missed but we suggest that, once you stop some place, the planet-friendly thing to do is to make the most of what the immediate locality offers.

Dayout can be most useful if you have a smartphone with internet access. Then by becoming a subscriber you can download maps and audio guides for the place you are in. You don't need a smartphone though. You can also download the audio guides and play them on your computer or transfer them to an iPod or other mp3 player.

We are continuously working to add new audio guides.


Writers: Brett Atkinson, Jacquetta Bell, Sarah Bennett, Wendy Booth, Lorraine Brown, Susan Buckland, Alan Bunn, Denise Cowie, Mic Dover, Harry Duckworth, Sue Farley, Tommy Honey, Jenny Harworth, Julian Hulls, Murray King, Joanna Orwin, Hamish McKenzie, Geraldine McManus, Virginia Nees, Chris Parkin, Charmian Smith, Karen Stade, Andrea Stephens, Peter Taylor, Louise Thomas, John Wilson, Jill Worrall, Alan Wylde.

Photo Credits: Kevin Alekna, Annette Blattman, Kent Blechynden, Wendy Bolam, Andrew Burgin, Neil Beckett, Alan Bunn, Denise Cowie, Martin Everton, Lisa Garrod, Chris Gee, Lee Greshon, Bruce Grigor, Helen Devereux, Harry Duckworth, Frank Froelicher, James Gilberd, Fay Graham, Doug Hamilton, Cark Jenkin, Ngarita Johnstone, Karen Lee, Joy McIvor, Nartasha Marshall, Steve Moss, Paul Nicholas, Werner van den Oudenhoven, Bruce Ross, Royal Albatross Centre, Ellen Smith, Cielle Stephens, Louis Schutte, Sharon Seath, Carolyn Sygrove, Peter Taylor, Taieri Gorge Railway, Aaron Thompson, Terry Thompson, Tourism Northland, Vivienne Waterer, Peter & Christine Whiteford, Wes Palmer, Bill Neal, Alan Wylde.

Audio: Brian Busby (production), Rob Mcewen (engineer). Wendy Booth, Brian Busby, Harry Duckworth, Frank Edwards, Tommy Honey, Paul Kitteridge, Konraed Kuiper, Timon Maxey, Chris Parkin, Jo Richardson, Bron Shrapnell, Robin Simenauer, Laura Solbak, Judy Southworth, John Sweetman,Susan Wylde (voices).

Research: Stephen Kaiser. Cielle Stephens, Veronica Gailitis.

Site Design: WolfLight Design